Connect with us

Football

Game 1 of the Stanley Cup Final Involving the Oilers Saturday Evening Forces Earlier Start to Riders CFL Opener in Edmonton

Published

on

The Edmonton Oilers and Florida Panthers will open the 2024 Stanley Cup final series on Saturday at 6 o’clock, Saskatchewan Time, in Sunrise, Florida.

With that announcement, the C-F-L’s Edmonton Elks don’t want a time conflict between their regular-season opener at Commonwealth Stadium against the Saskatchewan Roughriders and Game 1 of the N-H-L’s championship series. So, instead of a 5 p.m. kick-off on Saturday, the Green and White and the Elks will start at 2 o’clock. Following is the news release from the Riders…..

SASKATCHEWAN VS. EDMONTON SEASON OPENER SHIFTS TO 2 P.M. MT KICKOFF

 

The Canadian Football League (CFL) has shifted its Week 1 contest between the Saskatchewan Roughriders and the Edmonton Elks on Saturday, June 8, to a 2 p.m. MT/4 p.m. ET start time.

 

Originally scheduled for a 5 p.m. MT/7 p.m. ET kickoff, the shift allows fans to attend or watch the Elks season-opener, as well as Game 1 of the Stanley Cup Finals.

 

The Roughriders’ home schedule begins June 23rd against the Hamilton Tiger-Cats.

 

Continue Reading